The 2022 season saw VSR return to the Italian GT Endurance Championship, picking up three titles – the Overall Championship for Yuki Nemoto and Edoardo Liberati and the Pro-Am Championship for Andrea Cola and Baptiste Moulin, as well as the Team Trophy. VSR also completed the full GT World Challenge Endurance Championship, getting both cars to the chequered flag in the gruelling TotalEnergies 24 Hours of Spa, as well as running three new Super Trofeo Evo 2 cars in the European Championship. Lewandowski added to his tally of success with VSR by claiming the European Am Championship and winning the Am Grand Final.

VSR's GT racing career started in 2015 when multiple World Champion Vincenzo Sospiri decided, after a decade of running successful single-seater teams, to turn his hand to GT cars. That year, alongside Formula 4 programmes in Italy and Japan, VSR entered two Lamborghini Huracan Super Trofeo cars in the European Championship. Success was immediate with Kei Cozzolino and Shinya Michimi winning the first race of the season at Monza. In the same year the team also entered two rounds of the Italian GT Championship, claiming three class victories in four races.

In 2016 VSR entered the full Italian Championship and won the Super GT class with Nicolas Costa, claiming seven victories. VSR also collected three class wins and seven podiums in the Lamborghini Super Trofeo Championship and finished second in class in the Mugello 12-hours. In the summer the team's first Lamborghini Huracan GT3 arrived and was shipped to China for the 2016-17 Asian Le Mans Series. VSR's GT3 debut saw them take a podium finish at Zhuhai and finish fourth at Fuji.

Winning proved a hard habit to break and in 2017 VSR retained the Italian Super GT title with Finnish GT debutants Tuomas Tujula and Aaro Vainio as VSR crews finished first, second and third in the Championship. There was further success for the team in Europe with Christopher Dreyspring and JiaTong Liang winning the Lamborghini Super Trofeo Pro-Am title, Andrzej Lewandowski and Teodor Myszkowski taking the Am Championship and Raphael Abbate and Yuki Nemoto finishing 2nd in the World Final. In the same year the team contested the Blancpain GT Asia and took two pole positions, one Silver Cup victory, three Silver Cup podiums, second overall at Fuji and finished runners up in the Am class with a car run under the X-One brand for Andrew Haryanto.

2018 saw the team bring its GT3 cars to Europe, fielding a double entry in the International GT Open. After claiming five class victories and a further five podiums Lewandowski and GT debutant Giulio Borlenghi were crowned Am Champions at the final round in Barcelona. There was continued success in the European Lamborghini Super Trofeo Championship with Lewandowski finishing second in Am and Takeshi Kasai third in Pro-Am. During the season the team's four Super Trofeo Evo cars racked up fourteen pole positions, eight victories, nine podiums and ten fastest laps.

VSR ran cars in Europe and Asia in 2019. In Europe Sospiri's team won the International GT Open Pro-Am Championship with Frederik Schandorff and blitzed the GT Cup Open Europe – winning the Overall, Team and Pro-Am titles with Hans-Peter Koller, finishing second in Pro-Am with Edoardo Liberati and finishing runners-up in Am with JP Mauro and Rodolfo Toni. In Asia the team ran a Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo in the Blancpain GT World Challenge Asia and two cars in the Asian Lamborghini Super Trofeo Championship. Schandorff and Alex Au were GT3 Pro-Am contenders for much of the season, eventually finishing third after scoring one win and eight podiums. A win in the Misano round of the Italian GT Endurance Championship as well as second place in the FIA Motorsport Games GT Cup completed another triumphant year for VSR.

Despite racing with the added challenge of the Covid pandemic in 2020 Yuki Nemoto and Tuomas Tujula claimed the Italian GT Sprint crown for VSR and Lamborghini after a dramatic and hard-fought season for the youngsters from the Lamborghini Young Driver Programme. VSR once more dominated the European Lamborghini Super Trofeo Championship, taking the Pro-Am title with Lewandowski and Basz at Spa with one round to go and scoring nine victories.

In 2021 VSR continued its run of success with Lamborghini by finishing the season as International GT Open Champions (Overall and Team) with Michele Beretta and Frederik Schandorff. Baptiste Moulin and Yuki Nemoto finished 4th in the Championship, contributing to the team's victorious season which included three 1-2 finishes. VSR also retained the European Lamborghini Super Trofeo Pro-Am title, won once again by Andrzej Lewandowski and won the prestigious World Final with Karol Basz and Mattia Michelotto.


The team's modern workshop in Forlì, Italy (40km from Imola) boasts a simulator and gives drivers access to Fabrizio Borra's Fisiology Centre (www.fisiology.it). The team's Pro drivers, many of whom have been included in Lamborghini Squadra Corse driver programmes, are always on hand to provide coaching and tuition when required.


Twenty-one titles in ten years:
1 - 2022 Italian GT Endurance (Liberati & Nemoto)
2 - 2022 Italian GT Endurance Pro-Am (Cola & Moulin)
3 - 2022 Italian GT Endurance Team (VSR)
4 - 2021 Lamborghini Super Trofeo World Final (Basz & Michelotto)
5 - 2021 International GT Open (Beretta & Schandorff)
6 - 2021 International GT Open Team (VSR)
7 - 2021 European Lamborghini Super Trofeo Pro-Am (Lewandowski)
8 - 2020 Italian GT Sprint (Nemoto & Tujula)
9 - 2020 European Lamborghini Super Trofeo Pro-Am (Basz & Lewandowski)
10 - 2019 International GT Open Pro-Am (Schandorff)
11 - 2019 GT Cup Open Europe Team (VSR)
12 - 2019 GT Cup Open Europe Overall (Koller)
13 - 2019 GT Cup Open Europe Pro-Am (Koller)
14 - 2018 International GT Open Am (Borlenghi & Lewandowski)
15 - 2017 Italian Super GT (Tujula & Vainio)
16 - 2017 European Lamborghini Super Trofeo Pro-Am (Dreyspring & Liang)
17 - 2017 European Lamborghini Super Trofeo Am (Lewandowski & Myszkowski)
18 - 2016 Italian Super GT (Costa)
19 - 2014 Auto GP (Sato)
20 - 2013 Italian Formula Abarth Trofeo Nazionale (Trofimov)
21 - 2012 European Formula Abarth (Costa)
22 - 2012 Italian Formula Abarth (Costa)
23 - 2011 European Formula Abarth (Sirotkin)
24 - 2010 Formula Abarth Winter Trophy (Costa)
and runners-up a further twelve times:
1 - 2022 Italian GT Endurance (Beretta)
2 - 2021 European Lamborghini Super Trofeo Pro-Am (Basz)
3 - 2019 GT Cup Open Europe Pro-Am (Liberati)
4 - 2019 GT Cup Open Europe Am (Mauro/Toni)
5 - 2018 European Lamborghini Super Trofeo Am (Lewandowski)
6 - 2017 Italian Super GT (Cazzaniga/D'Amico)
7 - 2017 Lamborghini Super Trofeo World Final (Abbate/Nemoto)
8 - 2017 Blancpain GT Series Asia Am (Haryanto)
9 - 2013 Italian Formula Abarth Trofeo Nazionale (Larionov)
10 - 2013 Italian Formula Abarth (Beretta)
11 - 2013 Auto GP (Sato)
12 - 2012 Auto GP Under 21 (Sirotkin)
13 - 2011 Italian Formula Abarth (Sirotkin)


- Karol Basz (GT Champion)
- Michele Beretta (GT Champion)
- Andrea Cola (GT Champion)
- Nicolas Costa (GT Champion)
- Kei Cozzolino (GT Driver)
- Jerome D'Ambrosio (F1 & Formula E)
- Luca Filippi (F1 & Indycar)
- Andrzej Lewandowski (GT Champion)
- Edoardo Liberati (GT Champion)
- Mattia Michelotto (GT Champion)
- Baptiste Moulin (GT Champion)
- Yuki Nemoto (GT Champion)
- Vitaly Petrov (F1 & LMP2)
- Frederik Schandorff (GT Champion)
- Sergey Sirotkin (F1)
- Tuomas Tujula (GT Champion)
- Aaro Vainio (GT Champion)


- 1999 Le Mans pole sitter (Toyota GT One)
- 1999 ISRS World Sportscar Champion (Ferrari 333 SP)
- 1998 ISRS World Sportscar Champion (Ferrari 333 SP)
- 1997 Indy 500 Fastest Rookie
- 1997 IRL Rookie of the Year (Indycar)
- 1996 Benetton F1 test driver
- 1995 F3000 Champion
- 1990 Vauxhall Lotus Champion
- 1988 Formula Ford Festival Winner
- 1982 -1987 Winner of 7 Kart Championships (World, European, Italian and Swiss)